Formerly known as the "Pebbles", St. Andrew's now has a new mascot after a school wide vote. We are now the "Magnets
“Blue and Gold “ - These colors have been established and are part of the school’s tradition dating back to 1950.
St. Andrews Elementary (“SAE”) was established in 1950 with 150 students and five teachers. The first principal, Mr. Charles Culbertson, had an adjoining street named in honor of his contributions to the community. Our school still remains a focal point for the community, being comfortably nestled among three established West Ashley neighborhoods, a thriving business center, and a public library. In addition, SASMS is next to the West Ashley Greenway and a nature trail, and has a view of the marsh.
Today, we boast of approximately 755 students and 66 staff members, a state of-the-art technology center, and an extremely challenging curriculum which utilizes a Math and Science core in all subject areas.